you win some, you lose you some

Last weekend Mr Bric and I felt pretty pleased with ourselves when we arrived at a small brocante in Avernes, 40 minutes north of Paris, at 7:00 am. We imagined we’d have first pick of the “good stuff” and be home well in time for lunch. Imagine our surprise when we saw that the car park was already almost full and we had to park a five minute walk away from the stalls.

The brocante was already pretty busy so we wasted no time in getting rummaging. The first thing that caught my eye was a interesting piece of, old looking, jewellery just thrown into a box of mixed costume jewellery. It was a piece that I suspect could be worn as either a brooch or a pendant and featured an unusual cicada design. It was pretty worn and dirty and I suspected that it might be made of gold.

It turns out that I was only half right. The piece is old (possibly late Victorian) but it is made of gilt metal and not gold, I should have noticed the evidence of tarnishing on the back (the green staining). I learned a valuable lesson: all that glitters definitely isn’t gold. Costing only 20c, I can live with the disappointment.

Published by

bricabrocante

I'm a British thirty-something who's found herself living in Paris. I have developed something of an obsession with brocantes. I spend far too much time trawling through these treasure troves and thought it was time I documented my discoveries.

Leave a Reply

